Databases
The Library has several databases that can provide marketing data. Some, such as the first two below, are good sources for statistics.
- SBRnet (Sports Market Analytics)
This link opens in a new window
Data on sports participation, sports apparel & equipment and fans, - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
The portal for statistics. Statistical information in a wide variety of areas, including sports & recreation, consumer goods, media and many other areas.
Other databases may have data within articles. Try searches with formats similar to one of these: [your topic] AND [your target audience], [your topic] AND demographic*, or [your topic] AND [a psychographic term]
[Your topic] should be a short word or phrase {Examples:: social media, facebook, instagram, tiktok
| Some possible target audience terms | Some possible psychographic terms |
|---|---|
| [gen Z OR generation Z) | psychographic* |
| (hispanic* OR latino* OR latina*) | buyer attitude |
| millennial | buyer behavior |
| middle class | consumer attitude |
| (senior citizens OR older adults) | consumer behavior |
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles from all aspects of business plus research reports, industry reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
- Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
A very large general academic database covering a broad range of topics. It includes a mix of magazine and journal articles. Many items are full text.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information about language, mass media, communication, and advertising with many articles available full-text.
- Gale OneFile: Business
- This link opens in a new window
Index of business and trade journal articles on business, finance, mergers, trade, banking, and information for over 150,000 companies.
- PsycInfo
- This link opens in a new window
Information on psychology and related disciplines, including journal articles and book chapters.