Image via the National Archives
Historical Newspapers
Library Services provides access to a variety of historic newspapers, which can serve as excellent primary sources.
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
This link opens in a new window
A century and a half of the African American experience.
In addition to the library's historical newspaper databases, there are a number of online resources that provide access to historical newspaper content.
- Library of Congress - Chronicling AmericaThe Chronicling America project, an ongoing campaign by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, aims to create an Internet-based searchable database of U.S. newspapers. Currently, the collection includes numerous newspapers from 1836 to 1922, and is constantly updated. Information can be searched by keyword or browsed by newspaper title or location.
- NewspaperCatNewspaperCat is a catalog of digital historical newspapers provided by the University of Florida. The collection includes more than 1,000 U.S. titles, as well as some from the Caribbean, and are easy to search by keyword or browse by title or location.
- International Coalition on NewspapersThe International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) is a massive newspaper digitization project. The database includes bibliographic information for more than 25,000 newspapers from around the country and world. Some newspapers require a subscription to access.
- List of Online Newspaper ArchivesThis comprehensive list from Wikipedia details which newspapers - domestic and international - are available online and which require a subscription to access.
New York Times
- New York Times Online - Account Registration
- This link opens in a new window
Use this link to register your New York Times account! You must register with your Springfield College email address. You must renew your account every 4 years to maintain access.
Library Services is pleased to offer all Springfield College students, faculty, and staff full access to NYTimes.com!
To create your NYTimes.com account:
-
First, visit this one-time registration link. You must register using your Springfield College email address.
-
Use your new Springfield College account to log in at NYTimes.com and the free NYTimes app.
-
That's it! You now have access to unlimited articles from The New York Times.
Newspapers & Current Newspaper Databases
Library Services provides access to a variety of databases that include newspaper articles.
- U.S. Major Dailies
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
The L.A. Times is a leading source of breaking news, entertainment, sports, politics, and more for Southern California and the world.
- Springfield Republican and Western Massachusetts Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Republican and other Western Massachusetts newspapers including: Advocate (North Adams), Amherst Bulletin, Berkshire Eagle, Daily Hampshire Gazette, North Adams Transcript, Recorder (Greenfield), Springfield Advocate, Springfield Examiner, and Valley Advocate.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
- This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, international daily newspaper. Full text from 1984-present.
- Washington Post (1987-current)
- This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post provides breaking news and analysis on politics, business, world national news, entertainment, and more.
- Gale OneFile: News
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to full-text newspapers. It offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse through many current topics of interest here. Includes news, opinions and academic articles.
